| 13°C Belfast

Cork trio in Opel GPA Team of Year

All-Ireland champions Cork have three players in the Opel GPA Team of the Year, while five of the Down team which lost the final have been included.

The selection is made up of players from seven different counties - Cork, Down, Sligo, Dublin, Kildare, Louth and Limerick.

Cork's Michael Shields, Paudie Kissane, and Daniel Goulding are included, while All-Ireland runners up Down are represented by Brendan McVeigh, Kevin McKernan, Daniel Hughes, Martin Clarke and Benny Coulter.

Dublin have two players, Philly McMahon and Bernard Brogan, as do Kildare with Emmet Bolton and John Doyle.

The Player of the Year will be announced at Friday evening's banquet, with three players short-listed - Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Benny Coulter (Down) and John Doyle (Kildare)

1 Brendan McVeigh (Down) 2 Charlie Harrison (Sligo) 3 Michael Shields (Cork) 4 Philly McMahon (Dublin) 5 Kevin McKernan (Down) 6 Emmet Bolton (Kildare) 7 Paudie Kissane (Cork) 8 Paddy Keenan ( Louth) 9 John Galvin (Limerick) 10 Daniel Hughes (Down) 11 Martin Clarke (Down) 12 John Doyle (Kildare) 13 Daniel Goulding (Cork) 14 Benny Coulter (Down) 15 Bernard Brogan (Dublin)