Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Delightful Derry light up Owenbeg

Derry 2-20 Queen's University 0-06

By Steven Doherty

Derry powered into the McKenna Cup semi-finals with a 20-point hammering of Queen's.

Enda Lynn (1-2) and Ryan Bell (0-5) top scored for Damian Barton's men, who now meet Monaghan on Sunday.

There were barely two minutes on the clock when Owenbeg found itself cloaked in darkness with a floodlight failure causing a 40-minute delay with Queen's a point to the good courtesy of a Conor McGrady free.

When play finally resumed, Derry took a stranglehold, tagging on 2-7 without reply. The Oak Leafs blossomed with Lynn and Neil Forester popping up for palmed goals. Niall Loughlin continued his fine 2017 form, while Ryan Bell also notched over two points from play.

Queen's lacked any real drive and could rely only on McGrady for their three first-half scores.

It was more of the same after the break. Kilrea's James Kielt tapped over two early scores before impact sub Carlus McWilliams raised the first of his three second-half white flags.

Back-to-back Mark Lynch clinkers kept the Derry pressure on before Bell scored his third, fourth and fifth of the game.

Queen's ace McGrady was replaced by Sean Fox who duly pointed, while Ciaran O'Hanlon scored his side's final point.

With word filtering through that results elsewhere favoured the Oak Leafers, Derry fought on. They even afforded Lynn's 53rd-minute penalty to zip over Callum Mullan Young's crossbar.

Man of the match Lynn continued to shine as Derry qualified for the semis.

Derry: McLarnon, C Mullan, Nevin, Murphy, Forester (1-0), Duffin, Warnock, McAtamney, McLaughlin, Lynn (1-2), James Kielt (0-4), Hagan (0-1), Lynch (0-3 , 0-1f), Bell (0-5,0-1f), Loughlin (0-1).

Subs: McGrogan for C Mullan (12), McWilliams (0-3 )for P Hagan (H-T), O'Neill (0-1) for McAtamney (39), Rocks for Warnock (43), McGuckin for Lynch (46), Kearney for Loughlin (47)

Queen's: Young, Keenan, Dowling, Carville, Heffron, Wells, Hoey, Doherty, Dougan, Fegan, Morgan, McCann, McGrady (0-4, 0-3f), McClements, O'Hanlon (0-1).

Subs: Quinn for Carville (22), Francis for McCann (H-T), McMahon for Doherty (H-T), McCarton for Dougan (42), Fox (0-1) for McGrady (46)

Referee: James Lewis (Fermanagh)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph