Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Derry Hurling Championship: Lavey hit glory trail after three goal blitz

Lavey 3-10 Kevin Lynch's 0-11: An early scoring charge for Lavey set them on their way to a first Derry hurling crown since 2002 and halted Kevin Lynch’s quest for five in a row at Celtic Park yesterday.

There were only 26 seconds on the clock when Ben Dodds lashed home Lavey’s first goal and they followed that up with a second major when Paddy Henry goaled direct from a 65.

From that point on the holders were playing catch-up and despite the free-taking accuracy of Ciaran Heron, they never got any closer than three points to the Erin’s Own men who led by 2-5 to 0-6 at the interval.

When Colm Murphy swooped for Lavey’s third goal eight minutes after the break the game was up for the Dungiven men. Lavey won pulling away at the finish with the final four scores for a deserved eight-point victory.

Lavey: P McGill; S Lagan, P McVeigh, P Dillon; D O’Neill, S Henry (0-1), J Darragh; P Doherty, M Drumm; P Henry 1-9 (five frees, one 65), B Dodds (0-1), C O’Boyle; S Dodds, P Hearty, C Murphy (1-1). Sub: K O’Neill for Hearty.

Kevin Lynch’s: B Lagan; D Kelly, M Craig, K Farren; E Farren, P Kelly, C Heron (0-7, five frees, 65); K Hinphey, C Mackle; M McCormack, C MCloskey (0-1), Paddy McCloskey; C McElhinney, C McKeever (0-1), F McGuigan (0-2). Subs: A McCloskey for McCormack (26), L Hinphey for D Kelly (34), B Og McGilligan for K Farren (39), P Sweeney for C McCloskey (47), Padhraic McCloskey for McElhinney (57).

Referee: E Hasson (Swatragh).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph