| 13.8°C Belfast

Brian McIver forced to overhaul Derry plans


Brian McIver

Brian McIver

Lorcan Doherty

Brian McIver

Antrim have named an unchanged team from the side that beat Fermanagh at Brewster Park, as they prepare to play Donegal in this Sunday's Ulster semi-final.

Manager Liam Bradley has reported a clean bill of health, apart from Michael Armstrong, who appeared as a second-half substitute and has since picked up a hamstring injury that will prevent his participation.

Bradley has shown faith in goalkeeper Patrick Flood, who conceded three goals in his first-ever appearance for Antrim.

Brian McIver has been forced into six changes for his Derry side as they prepare to take on Longford at Celtic Park tomorrow night in the first round of the qualifiers.

Oisín Duffy comes in for Dermot McBride, Aidan McAlynn replaces Kevin Johnston, who moves to midfield, and Mark Craig does likewise for Mark Lynch.

Derry captain Lynch played midfield on a couple of occasions during the league and will fill in as Fergal Doherty and Patsy Bradley have both been ruled out with injury.

Up front, Derry are missing Emmet McGuckin (injury) and Cailean O'Boyle, who departed for America. James Kielt comes into the team while the 18-year-old schoolboy Terence O'Brien will make his debut at full-forward.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Fermanagh have made four changes to their side that will face Laois on Saturday at O'Moore Park. Marty O'Brien, Barry Mulrone and Niall Cassidy form a new full-back line, while Ruairi Corrigan comes in for Paul Ward.

ANTRIM (v Donegal, USFC): P Flood; K O'Boyle, R Johnston, N Delargy; M Johnston, J Crozier, J Laverty; M McCann, N McKeever (C); C Murray, M Sweeney, P McCann; B Neeson, K Niblock, T McCann

DERRY (v Longford, Rd 1A Qualifiers): T Mallon; O Duffy, C McKaigue, A McAlynn; G McKinless, M Craig, SL McGoldrick; M Lynch (C), K Johnston; A Devlin, E Bradley, E Lynn; J Kielt, T O'Brien, C McFaul

FERMANAGH (v Laois, Rd 1A Qualifiers): C Snow; M O'Brien, B Mulrone, N Cassidy; D McCusker, R McCluskey, T McElroy; E Donnelly (C), R O'Callaghan; L Cullen, R Jones, P McCusker; R Corrigan, S Quigley, B Owens.

* TYRONE county board are due to appeal the black card handed to corner-forward Darren McCurry with 10 minutes remaining of last Sunday's Ulster quarter-final against Monaghan.

McCurry was awarded the black card by referee Eddie Kinsella for what he believed was a hand trip, but video evidence could suggest that he was merely getting up off the ground after being dispossessed and a Monaghan player tripped over him.

Meanwhile, Monaghan are also set to challenge Darren Hughes' black card.

Hughes was controversially sent to the sidelines after his tackle on Sean Cavanagh, when Cavanagh appeared to wrap his own arm around Hughes as he made for goal. The two men both fell to the ground, and the Scotstown man had to walk.

Top Videos