Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Derry

Derry are moving in right direction: McErlain


By Paul McIntyre

Derry advanced to Round Two of this year's All-Ireland Football Championship with a convincing win over Wexford on Saturday evening at Innovate Wexford Park.

The damage was done in the first half as some slick and powerful play saw the Oak Leafs claim four goals.

After Wexford claimed the game's opening two points it was all about Derry as Shane McGuigan, Enda Lynn and Ciaran McFaul orchestrated their biggest Championship win in many years.

The returning Benny Heron rifled home goal No.1 for Derry after just eight minutes before turning provider for McGuigan to fist in the second goal on 14 minutes.

It was Ryan Bell who raised the third green flag of the day as McGuigan also turned provider and the game was already out of Wexford's grasp when man of the match Lynn coolly finished off a flowing move involving McFaul and Emmet Bradley to the net.

Afterwards, a delighted Derry manager Damian McErlain praised his side's maturing performance.

"I'm very pleased with the performance, particularly in the first half playing against a strong breeze," he said.

"We controlled the game from start to finish which was very pleasing.

"We are making good progress this year, we are starting to play together like a team, we are starting to act like a team and we are starting to look like a team.

"Training has been very good since the Tyrone game, and we showed a wee bit of ambition which was good."

But the Magherafelt native is taking nothing for granted following his side's 18-point win.

"We have loads to work on," he added.

"Monday morning (the Round Two draw) will bring us a new team, a new challenge and it will be a different outlook depending on who we get so we have plenty to work on."

What also pleased McErlain was the display of his substitutes. He added: "The performances never really dipped which is the pleasing thing because we are going to need them."

Scorers: Wexford: Donal Shanley 0-2 2F, Tom Byrne 0-2, James Cash 0-1, Michael Furlong 0-1, Brian Malone 0-1, Niall Hughes 0-1, Conor Devitt 0-1, Jonathan 0-1 1F.

Derry: Benny Heron 1-3 1F, Shane McGuigan 1-3 1F, Ryan Bell 1-3 2F, Enda Lynn 1-1, Conor McAtamney 0-2, Ciaran McFaul 0-1, Emmett Bradley 0-1, Christopher Bradley 0-1, Jack Doherty 0-1.



Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph