Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Derry

Derry find something extra to see off Armagh

Derry 1-17 - Armagh0-14

By John Campbell

Derry's fitness, work rate and commitment took them to a six-point victory in yesterday's Ulster minor football championship semi-final at St Tiernach's Park, Clones - but only after they had been taken to extra-time by a resilient but profligate Armagh side.

It was substitute Caolan Devlin who did most to swing the match in the Oak Leaf side's favour by landing seven points while also injecting pace and enterprise into an attack which had earlier found the Armagh defence difficult to penetrate.

Derry boss Damien McErlain now awaits the outcome of next Saturday's semi-final between Monaghan and Donegal to discover just who his team's opponents in the final will be.

"I thought we finished strongly and that was pleasing," said McErlain.

Armagh enjoyed their best spell midway through the first-half when Rian O'Neill, Ryan Owens (2), and Conor McConville flashed over points that hoisted them into a 0-7 to 0-3 interval lead.

But a Patrick Coney goal shortly triggered a Derry onslaught.

Armagh got back on terms to force the game into extra-time when the sides were deadlocked at 1-9 to 0-12. In extra-time, Derry scored the last five points with their opponents landing just one.

Derry: B McKinless: C McCluskey, G McLaaughlin , C Doherty; P McGrogan, E Concannon, S McErlain; P Coney 1-1, O McWilliams; L Kielt, L McWilliams, P Quigg 0-2; S Downey, F Higgins 0-4 (1f), E Bradley 0-2. Subs: S Higgins 0-1 for Kielt (Half-time), C Devlin 0-7 for L McWilliams (39), J P Devlin for O McWilliams (51), A Bradley for Concannon (58), B Cassidy for E Bradley (63), O McKeever for McErlain (67), O Hartin for McKinless (Black card 68).

Armagh: M Nugent; J McAlinden, B McCambridge, D Loye; C McGeary 0-1, C O'Neeill, R Owens 0-3; C O'Neill, E McDonnell 0-1; R McQuillan, R O'Neill 0-4 (4f), C McConville 0-1; J Duffy 0-3, S Loye 0-1, R McSherry. Subs: M Girvan for McDonnell (56), K McAlinden for S Loye (56), E McCabe for C O'Neill (67), F Mackin for McAlinden (69). Yellow cards: McConville (12), McSherry (29).

Referee: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)


Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph