Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Derry

Hannon takes the lead role as Slaughtneil rack up five in a row

Tina Hannon
Tina Hannon
John Campbell

By John Campbell

There is just no stopping Slaughtneil when it comes to winning Derry Senior County Championship camogie titles.

Yesterday, they clinched their fifth successive Derry crown by overcoming Ballinascreen in the decider by 0-11 to 0-3.

And yet again it was Tina Hannon who stole the show with a superb display of finishing as her team cruised into an Ulster showdown with Loughguile.

Hannon scored five points and it was left to Lauren McKenna to lead Ballinascreen's resistance but in the end they had to bow to their opponents' sheer power and finishing skills.

There was disappointment for Tyrone representatives St Macartan's Augher when they lost to Donegal champions Termon by the narrowest of margins (1-9 to 2-5) in the Ulster Ladies' Senior Club Football Championship semi-final.

St Macartan's edged into a 2-1 to 1-2 half-time lead with their second goal from Coleen McQuaid looking to have put them on the path to victory.

But even though she was closely marked, Termon sharpshooter Geraldine McLaughlin was still able to keep her side in touch.

And it was her goal in the first half that was to prove crucial in keeping her team's hopes of making the final alive.

After the break she landed a brace of points that allowed Termon to keep their noses in front although they were forced to endure a fraught closing phase which encompassed no fewer than 11 minutes of added time.

Nor were St Macartan's the only Ulster side to endure heartbreak. Down champions Bredagh lost out to Donaghmoyne in the other Ulster ladies' senior semi-final.

Meanwhile, Clonduff enjoyed more success when they won the Ulster Club Intermediate Camogie Championship title by beating Eglish by 2-12 to 1-11 at Pearse Og Park, Armagh.

Sarah Louise Graffin hit 1-4 for Clonduff while the Donnelly sisters Ciara and Leanne were outstanding for the Tyrone representatives.

Clonduff's Erin Rafferty was afterwards presented with the coveted player of the match award.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph