Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Derry

There is more to come from KIldare, says O'Neill


Prime goal: Cian O’Neill has Kildare fired up for success
Prime goal: Cian O’Neill has Kildare fired up for success
John Campbell

By John Campbell

Kildare manager Cian O'Neill believes his side can build on their three All-Ireland qualifier wins to date against Derry, Longford and Mayo and he insists that nothing will be allowed to get in the way of the team's preparation for next week-end's Fourth Round qualifier.

"I think there is more to come from this team and I believe the players deserve great credit for what they have achieved lately," said O'Neill.

His team's 0-21 to 0-19 win over Mayo on Saturday night came at the end of a turbulent week during which the GAA authorities sought to pursue their decision to stage the game at Croke Park, but Kildare's stubborn refusal not to relinquish home advantage subsequently saw them triumph at St Conleth's Park, Newbridge.

"We stuck to our guns and stuck to our game plan and I'm just delighted that the lads held out in the end," declared O'Neill, "It was always about the players. It was never about anything else and by they deserved their win."

"I always felt they had it in them and it was a great result for us no matter how you look at it."

Meanwhile, Derry will meet Monaghan in the Ulster minor football championship final after the teams triumphed over Tyrone and Cavan respectively in yesterday's semi-finals.

The Oak Leaf side got the better of the Red Hands by 2-10 to 1-8 their goals coming from Enda Downey and Conleth McGuckin while Monaghan had a much more comfortable 2-16 to 2-4 victory over their Breffni neighbours.

Tyrone lost their discipline to some extent and missed scoring chances while Derry managed to close out the game efficiently to leave manager Paddy Campbell with a smile on his face.

Karl Gallagher and Aaron Mulligan scored Monaghan's goals while Emmet Boyland (penalty) and Eoin McCaffrey hit the net for Cavan but the Farney side always looked the more cohesive and purposeful unit.

The Leinster senior hurling championship final between Kilkenny and Galway finished all square at 0-18 each at Croke Park and the replay will now be staged at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Sunday next as Headquarters is not available.

John Canning with 0-8 (6f) and Niall Burke (0-4) were Galway's chief scorers while T J Reid stood head and shoulders above everyone else in the Kilkenny side by landing 0-10 .

His most important score came in the 72nd minute when his closing point ensured stalemate.

In the Munster hurling final Cork held on to defeat a gallant Clare side by 2-24 to 3-19. Pa Horgan scored 0-11 for the winners with Seamus Harnedy landing 1-4. Peter Duggan (1-7), David Reidy (1-2) and John Conlon (0-5) led the scoring for Clare.

Carlow became the inaugural holders of the Joe McDonagh Cup when they beat Westmeath by 2-26 to 1-24 .

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph