Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Donegal dozen in contention for Allstar accolades

By John Campbell

No fewer than twelve players from the Donegal side that clinched the All-Ireland title on Sunday week last have been included among the nominees for the GAA-GPA Opel Allstar awards.

Indeed, with Mayo contributing ten representatives to the 45-strong panel, this means that the All Ireland finalists claim almost half of the overall nominations.

And Donegal provide all three nominees for the Player of the Year award in Frank McGlynn, Colm McFadden and Karl Lacey.

Only two other Ulster players make it into the list, Armagh sharpshooter Jamie Clarke and Down forward Conor Laverty.

The Allstars team will be revealed on October 24 and is expected to be dominated by Donegal players. The only three players from the county not in the mix for Allstars who started the All-Ireland final are Leo McLoone, Patrick McBrearty and Ryan Bradley. But there is consolation for McBrearty in that he is nominated along with Donal Keogan (Meath) and Cillian O’Connor (Mayo) for the Young Player of the Year accolade.

The county by county breakdown is : Donegal (12), Mayo (10), Cork (7), Dublin (6), Meath (2), Longford (2), Armagh (1), Down (1), Kildare (1), Kerry (1), Laois (1), Wexford (1).

The full list of nominees is: Goalkeepers: David Clarke (Mayo); Stephen Cluxton (Dublin); Paul Durcan (Donegal).

Full Backs: Eoin Cadogan (Cork); Ger Cafferkey (Mayo); Keith Higgins (Mayo); Donal Keogan (Meath); Eamon McGee (Donegal); Neil McGee (Donegal); Paddy McGrath (Donegal); Rory O’Carroll (Dublin); Michael Shields (Cork).

Half backs: Emmet Bolton (Kildare); Colm Boyle (Mayo); Adrian Flynn (Wexford); Lee Keegan (Mayo); Karl Lacey (Donegal); Frank McGlynn (Donegal); Kevin Nolan (Dublin); Michael Quinn (Longford); Anthony Thompson (Donegal).

Midfielders: Neil Gallagher (Donegal); Rory Kavanagh (Donegal); Barry Moran (Mayo); Aidan O’Shea (Mayo); Brendan Quigley (Laois); Aidan Walsh (Cork).

Half Forwards: Paul Barden (Longford); Alan Dillon (Mayo); Paul Flynn (Dublin); Paul Kerrigan (Cork); Michael Darragh Macauley (Dublin); Mark McHugh (Donegal); Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo); Graham Reilly (Meath); Ciarán Sheehan (Cork).

Full forwards: Bernard Brogan (Dublin); Jamie Clarke (Armagh); Colm Cooper (Kerry); Conor Laverty (Down); Colm McFadden (Donegal); Andy Moran (Mayo); Michael Murphy (Donegal); Donncha O’Connor (Cork); Colm O’Neill (Cork).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph