Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Donegal on top after clinical victory

Galway 0-12 Donegal 1-16

Donegal went clear at the top of Division Two as Colm McFadden's goal helped drive Jim McGuinness's side to another comprehensive win.

Galway become the latest side to feel the wrath of hurt Tir Chonaill as the 2012 All-Ireland champions scored a seven-point win at Pearse Stadium to go into the three-week break with two wins from two.

McFadden hammered in the 14th minute, crisply shooting past Manus Breathnach.

Donegal could never really manage to pull away from Galway in the manner of their 13-point hammering of Laois last weekend but, nevertheless, the end result was never really threatened.

Galway were already rocked with full-back Finian Hanley leaving the field in some distress after going down awkwardly.

Galway led briefly after Michael Martin and Gary Sice answered an early McFadden point. Michael Murphy drew Donegal level.

Dermot Molloy added a pair of points as Donegal led 1-6 to 0-4 at the break and they might have had another goal, but McFadden was just wide with a chip.

The excellent Ryan McHugh hit the opening score of the second half, but Galway had a mini revival spurred by a brace of points from the lively Eoin Concannon.

Murphy hit a long-range beauty and followed it up with a 40-metre free. After Odhrán MacNiallais got in on the act, Murphy delightfully sailed over a free close to the sideline.

Donegal sprang Patrick McBrearty from the bench and the youngster helped himself to a trio of points.

"We sowed the seeds in the first half and we kept pushing on which was impressive," said McGuinness.

"We had some very good passages of play again today and we have to go now to use the next three weeks to build for our next game against Monaghan. That's a really good game to focus us now."

GALWAY: M Breathnach; D O'Neill, F Hanley, J Duane; P Varley (0-1), J Moore, S Denvir; T Flynn, J Kavanagh; G Sice (0-2), S Armstrong (0-1, 1f), P Conroy (0-3); G Bradshaw, M Martin (0-1), E Concannon (0-3). Subs: A Tierney for Hanley (12), G O'Donnell for Denvir (33), D O'Connell for Bradshaw (51 mins), D Cummins (0-1) for Martin (54), D Comer for Sice (64)

DONEGAL: P Durcan; K Lacey, N McGee, R McHugh (0-1); F McGlynn, L McLoone, A Thompson; R Kavanagh, M McElhinney; M McHugh, C Toye, O MacNiallais (0-1); C McFadden (1-4, 3f), M Murphy (0-4, 2f), D Molloy (0-2). Subs: N Gallagher for Kavanagh (h-t), P McBrearty (0-3) for Toye (44), H McFadden for Molloy (48), Martin O'Reilly for MacNiallais (65), Declan Walsh (0-1) for Lacey (68), L Keaney for McElhinney (70).

Referee: F Kelly (Longford).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph