| 7.2°C Belfast

Down Senior Football final: O’Hare points Burren on the road to title

Burren 2-14 Clonduff 2-3: Burren retained their Down SFC title thanks to a convincing victory over a disappointing Clonduff side at Pairc Esler on Saturday night.

Clonduff had looked lively in the opening stages of the game and might have scored but for a good block by Daniel McCartan to keep Jason Brown’s shot out.

It was Burren who were first to score, however, when Donal O’Hare pointed a free after just a minute of play.

Clonduff still had the better of the opening 10 minutes and they moved into a 0-02 to 0-01 lead as Brown and Conor óg O’Hagan sent over points from play.

Burren then got to grips with the game and went on to score four unanswered points to take a 0-07 to 0-03 lead into the break.

Clonduff had a dream start to the second-half when midfielder Arthur McConville had the ball in the Burren net within 16 seconds of the restart, but that was as good as it got for the underdogs, who didn’t score again until Brown side footed to the net in stoppage time.

In the meantime Burren, with Kevin McKernan leading by example, took complete control.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Leading by 0-11 to 1-03 at the end of the third quarter the goal they had been threatening came with eight minutes of normal time remaining.

Two goals came at once as Sean Murdock and Donal O’Hare both found the Clonduff net in the space of two minutes. Burren led 2-14 to 1-03 when Brown side footed the ball to the net for a consolation goal with the game over as a contest.

BURREN: C, Murdock, R McGovern, D McCartan, D McEntee, G McCartan, Ciaran McGovern, K McCartan, C Toner, A McArdle (0-1), Conal McGovern (0-1), S Murdock (1-1), E Toner, D O’Hare (1-05), J McGovern (0-03), S McArdle (0-1). Subs: E McCartan for E Toner, P Poland for Conal McGovern, P O’Rourke for Ciaran McGovern, C Byrne for C Toner, A Higgins for A McArdle.

CLONDUFF: N Trainor, J McPolin, P McConville, E O’Reilly, G McDonald, S O’Hagan, M McPolin, D O’Hagan, A McConville (1-1), P McPolin, A Carr, J Fegan, P McGreevy, C óg O’Hagan (0-1), J Brown (1-1). Subs: K Trainor for J McPolin, S McGreevy for G McDonald

Referee: Brendan Rice (Warrenpoint).

Top Videos