Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Dublin press on as Cork regroup


Cork 0-14 Dublin 1-16: The thin line that can separate success and failure at the business end of the championship season is in particularly sharp focus today.


While Dublin under their personable boss Jim Gavin prepare to further refine their finishing skills in advance of their All-Ireland semi-final against Kerry, Cork are starting a trawl for a new manager to succeed Conor Counihan.

As Gavin’s debut season in charge continues to foster the hope of All-Ireland glory, Counihan’s six-year tenure was terminated on a sombre note via an All-Ireland quarter-final defeat that could conceivably have been of much greater proportions.

Dublin’s class, poise and blistering pace may never have been in doubt as goal hero Jack McCaffrey, free-taker extraordinaire Stephen Cluxton and midfield dynamo did most to secure the game.

Counihan, meanwhile, had difficulty in keeping his emotions in check as he stood down.

“These are a great bunch of guys, they owe Cork nothing,” he sighed.

His side may only have led by 0-9 to 0-7 at the interval against Cork but Jack McCaffrey’s goal after the break, six exquisitely-stroked points from long-range frees by custodian Cluxton and Michael Darragh Macauley’s unrelenting energy powered them onwards.

That Cork still enjoyed some semblance of respectability via the final score was appropriate given Counihan’s swan song.

Dublin: S Cluxton (0-6, 0-2f, 4 ‘45’s); J Cooper, R O'Carroll, K O'Brien; J McCarthy, G Brennan, J McCaffrey (1-0); M D Macauley (0-1), C O'Sullivan; P Flynn (0-2), C Kilkenny, (0-2) D Connolly; P Mannion, B Cullen, B Brogan (0-1, f). Subs: D Rock (0-2) for B Cullen (41 mins), P McMahon for J Cooper (50), K McManamon (0-1) for P Mannion (54), D Bastick (0-1) for MD Macauley (60), E O'Gara for C Kilkenny (66).

Cork: A Quirke; E Cadogan, M Shields, T Clancy; D Cahalane (0-1, ‘45’), G Canty, J Loughrey (0-1); A O'Connor, P O'Neill; M Collins (0-2) (1f), A Walsh, J O'Rourke (0-1); D Goulding (0-5) (0-2 f, 1 ‘45’) C Sheehan (0-1), B Hurley (0-3). Subs: P Kissane for E Cadogan (36 mins), P Kerrigan for J O'Rourke (43), J O'Sullivan for T Clancy (48), D O'Connor for A O'Connor (51), T Clancy for G Canty (55).

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath).

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph