Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Dublin suffer shock loss

Kildare shocked Dublin to reach the O'Byrne Cup final with a 1-11 to 0-8 win at Newbridge.

And they had to do it with 14 men, after having Eoghan O'Flaherty sent off on a second yellow booking five minutes before half-time.

The Lilywhites led by 0-5 to 0-4 at the break, with points from Alan Smith, Ronan Sweeney and Mikey Conway, with Tomas Quinn scoring twice for the All-Ireland champions. Ronan Sweeney netted a 47th minute penalty after Tomas O'Connor had been fouled, and Conway and James Kavanagh added points for a deserved win.

Kildare's opponents in the decider will be UCD, who defeated Meath by 2-8 to 0-6.

Cork scored a runaway 2-17 to 0-7 win over CIT in the McGrath Cup semi-final, with Paul Kerrigan and Paudie Kissane hitting their goals.

Their opponents in the decider will be Tipperary, who defeated UCC by 1-15 to 0-10, the only goal of the game coming from Barry Grogan.

Tyrone and Derry will meet in the Dr McKenna Cup for the second successive year.

The Red Hands came from two points behind at the break to defeat Fermanagh by 2-12 to 1-4, with Owen Mulligan and teenager Ronan O'Neill hitting the goals.

Derry overcame Down by 0-11 to 0-9, with the help of six Conleith Gilligan points.


From Belfast Telegraph