Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Extra time sees Cavan seal win

DERRY 0-20 CAVAN 1-22 (AET)

By Cahair O'Kane

Maybe Cavan football just needed it more.

"It's a long time coming, but as soon as anything starts rolling, the Cavan supporters row in behind," said goalscorer Cian Mackey as he acknowledged swathes of supporters from his county now looking beyond next opponents London to an All-Ireland quarter-final.

For Cavan, it would represent a first step into that series since their 1997 semi-final with Kerry. .

"They're ecstatic out there and it makes winning that wee bit sweeter," Mackey added.

His extra-time goal put the finishing touches to a win Cavan deserved, but almost left behind after leading for most of the game.

Having struggled at midfield in the first half owing to the absence of cruciate victim PJ McCloskey and with Patsy Bradley visibly not fit, Derry went man for man in the second half and turned the game on its head. For the last 20 minutes, it was one Oak Leaf attack after the other.

When Eoin Bradley was fouled two minutes into stoppage time, Mark Lynch seemed to have kicked a winning score but Cavan refused to let it go, and worked their way up the pitch for Damien O'Reilly to swing a dramatic equaliser off his left foot with the last kick of the game.

To say Cavan were fitter would be unfair. It was simply that Terry Hyland's team got the run on it in extra time. They scored once, twice, three times in a row and led by 0-21 to 0-18 at the interval. From there, they passed the ball around in circles, finding blue shirts as the white shadows trailed after them. The ball did the work.

Derry: E McNicholl; C McAtamney, C McKaigue, D McBride; C Kielt, M Lynch (0-8, 7f), A McAlynn, SL McGoldrick; P Bradley, J Kielt (0-3, 1f); B Heron, R Bell (0-2), E Lynn (0-1); Eoin Bradley (0-3, 2f), E McGuckin (0-1). Subs: D Brown for McAtamney (33), C McFaul for C Kielt (45), L Kennedy for McGuckin (46), A Devlin (0-1) for Heron (56), Emmet Bradley (0-1) for P Bradley (62), C Kielt for Brown (start of ET), B McCallion for Kennedy (65), E McGuckin for Devlin (72)

Cavan: A O'Mara; K Clarke, R Dunne; A Clarke, J McEnroe, D O'Reilly (0-1), F Flanagan; T Corr, D Givney (0-1); R Flanagan (0-1), J Brady (0-1), C Mackey (1-0); M Reilly (0-5, 1f), E Keating (0-3, 1f), M Dunne (0-6, 5f). Subs: K Tierney for Givney (36), M Argue (0-2) for Dunne (56), D McVitty (0-2) for A Clarke (57), K Brady for McEnroe (64), M McKeever for Mackey (67), N Murray for Dunne (66), C Mackey for Brady (73), D Givney for Keating (74)

Referee: M Deegan (Laois).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph