Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Fermanagh

Donegal crowned Ulster Champions with Fermanagh victory

Fermanagh 0-12 Donegal 2-18

By Adam McKendry

Donegal are the 2018 Ulster champions as they strolled to a 2-18 0-12 win over Fermanagh at St Tiernach’s Park in Clones.

In glorious summer sunshine, Declan Bonner’s side made it four provincial titles in eight years as goals from Eoghan Ban Gallagher and Ryan McHugh handed them the win.

Indeed, the writing was on the wall early when Donegal dominated the early scoring, despite Sean Quigley’s free opening proceedings.

And when man of the match Gallagher palmed home a pass across the face of goal from McHugh, it already looked like an insurmountable lead.

That was only further exacerbated when McHugh turned provider to scorer, the talismanic forward evading several tackles to hammer the ball past Patrick Cadden.

At the break the Donegal men led by eight points, and things only got worse for Fermanagh after the restart as they failed to shut down their opponents’ lethal attack.

They got somewhat fortunate when Paddy McGrath had a goal chalked off for being inside the square just after the restart, before Ryan Jones was sent off for a second yellow card.

From there it was nothing more than a procession as Donegal dropped their intensity to coast to the end, keeping the scoreboard ticking over, as Fermanagh tired.

Replacement Seamus Quigley did score the point of the game with a few minutes to go, but it was nowhere near enough for the Erne county as Donegal enjoyed the run-in to the end and their ninth Ulster title.

How the game unfolded

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph