Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Fermanagh

Fermanagh face battle against drop

Fermanagh 4-10 Roscommon 3-17: Roscommon won a high-scoring encounter that produced seven goals in Enniskillen by 3-17 to 4-10 against Fermanagh. Roscommon had to come behind to triumph after trailing by 2-6 to 1-7 at the break at Brewster Park.

Fermanagh got off to a splendid start with an early goal from Seamie Quigley but Roscommon hit back with Conor Daly finding the net. A Lee Cullen goal before half-time left Fermanagh two points in front.

Sean Quigley increased Fermanagh's lead with a goal early in the second-half before Cathal Cregg netted for Roscommon.

A third goal arrived from Enda Smith and despite Seamie Quigley bagging a late goal, John Evan's Roscommon side held on.

They entertain Offaly next Sunday while Fermanagh, who are now sixth, travel to face Limerick.

Manager Pete McGrath admitted their promotion hopes were over.

"Promotion is no longer a possibility now – but we have to make sure we win our next three games to stay in the division," he said. It was a good, competitive game, but we were found wanting defensively."

Seamus Quigley flicked home the first goal and when points followed from Paul McCusker and Tommy McElroy, a comfortable lead was built up.

Some dreadful passing coupled with lax marking let Roscommon back into the game with Conor Daly finishing well. However, Fermanagh then hit 1-03.

Ryan Jones picked up a pass and immediately transferred to the overlapping Lee Cullen to run in Fermanagh's second goal.

Sean Quigley then followed a Roscommon brace of scores with 1-02 of his own.

Five up, it looked good for the home side but Donie Shine took the game by the scruff of the neck to shoot some sublime points.

Seamus Quigley did get a consolation goal for the home side but Pete McGrath and his side now find themselves embroiled in a relegation dog fight.

Fermanagh: C Snow; J Woods, T Daly, C Quigley, D McCusker, R McCluskey, T McElroy (0-01), E Donnelly, R O'Callaghan, L Cullen (1-00), Sean Quigley (1-05, 0-03f), P McCusker (0-01), T Corrigan (0-01), Seamus Quigley (2-01, 0-01f), R Jones (0-01). Subs; M O'Brien for C Quigley (23), B Cox for T Daly (52). E Courtney for McElroy (56)

Roscommon: D O'Malley, N Collins (0-01), N Carty, S McDermott, D Keenan, N Daly, C Cafferky, K Higgins, C Shine (0-02), E Smith (1-00), D Shine (0-07, 0-03f), C Daly (1-00), S Kilbride (0-02, 0-02f), C Gregg (1-00), D Murtagh (0-03). Subs; M Nally (0-01) for C Daly (52), C Compton (0-01) for Murtagh (65), D Keane for Smith (66).

Referee: Brendan Rice (Warrenpoint)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph