Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA Fermanagh

Jones crew can spur Harps in their drive for five


Key man: Ryan Jones can help the Harps boost bid for more title glory
Key man: Ryan Jones can help the Harps boost bid for more title glory
John Campbell

By John Campbell

Dublin aren't the only football side in the game immersed in a passionate drive for five frenzy.

Derrygonnelly Harps may operate on a somewhat lower scale to Jim Gavin's all-conquering outfit, but nonetheless their pursuit of perfection mirrors that of the reigning All-Ireland champions.

When they confront Belnaleck in tonight's Fermanagh Senior Championship semi-final at Brewster Park, Enniskillen (5.30pm), Derrygonnelly will be hoping to inch closer to a fifth successive county crown.

While Derrygonnelly will look to Ryan Jones, Conal Jones, Garvan Jones, Eamon McHugh and Shane McGullion to light their fire, Belnaleck can turn to the talented Cullen brothers Che and Lee, Kane Connor, Ciaran McBrien and Darragh McGurn for inspiration.

Derrygonnelly's protracted rule in Fermanagh owes much to the team's ferocious work rate and finishing power and these twin attributes might prove crucial this evening.

The Antrim Senior Football Championship, meanwhile, will be taken a stage further today when Lamh Dhearg and Ahoghill meet at Corrigan Park (5pm) before St Mary's Aghagallon and St Teresa's clash (7pm) in the second fixture of what is an attractive double bill.

Tomorrow, it will be the turn of Portglenone and St Brigid's to take centre stage at Glenravel (3pm) while Gort na Mona and O'Donovan Rossa will do battle at Lamh Dhearg (4pm).

In the Cavan Senior Football Championship, Castlerahan, powered by Cian Mackey and Oisin Kiernan, take on Shercock tonight at Dolan Park (6.30pm), while Lacken and Gowna meet at Kingspan Breffni (7.30pm).

Thomas Galligan can fire up Lacken, while Conor Brady could wield a big influence for Gowna.

Tomorrow, the Cavan Championship will see Lavey face Mullahoran, Cootehill take on Cavan Gaels, managed by former Armagh All-Ireland winner Ronan Clarke, and Ramor United will confront Crosserlough.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph