Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

GAA eye new hurling province

GAA chiefs are formulating a plan to create a new hurling province involving the seven lower tier counties in Connacht, Ulster and Leinster.

The scheme, according to National Director of Hurling Paudie Butler, would see them withdraw from the National Hurling Leagues and participate in extended club competitions.

Sligo, Leitrim, Donegal, Fermanagh, Cavan, Monaghan and Louth are the seven counties identified, with Tyrone possibly becoming an eighth.


From Belfast Telegraph