Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Galway humbled by Antrim

Galway were sent crashing out of the All-Ireland SFC title race following a shock defeat to Antrim at Casement Park.

Substitute Declan O'Hagan shot the winner for the Saffrons in stoppage time to stun the Tribesmen.

Galway led by 0-5 to 0-4 at half-time, with mark Hehir and Michael Meehan hitting the target.

James Loughrey and Michael McCann landed points as Antrrim forced the pace, but a late Padraic Joyce score appeared to have sealed it for Galway. However, Tomas McCann brought the sides level, and O'Hagan sealed a glorious result for the home side.

Battling Leitrim produced a courageous performance to down Wicklow in a thrilling tie at Carrick-on-Shannon and record their first ever win in the Qualifiers.

Three points each from Emlyn Mulligan and James Glancy had Leitrim ahead by 0-7 to 0-6 at the interval, with Joey Kelly shooting three for the visitors.

Misfiring Wicklow shot 10 second half wides, while the Connacht men took their chances.

Tyrone eased through to the third round draw with a 1-16 to 0-8 win over Roscommon at Hyde Park.

Three Owen Mulligan points and two from Joe McMahon sent Tyrone in with a 0-7 to 0-4 interval lead.

Peter Harte netted a 38th minute penalty, and Mulligan claimed a five points tally, while teenage sub Darren McCurry scored four.


From Belfast Telegraph