Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Goals galore as Burren blast way into final

Burren 5-15 Enniskillen Gaels 2-4

By Robert Jones

Burren made it look easy yesterday at St Paul’s, Belfast with a stunning 20-point victory over Enniskillen Gaels in the Ulster Club Minor Championship.

Burren had goal heroes in Conor McCartan and Declan Murdock who both supplied two goals apiece as the Down side had the luxury of even taking off a number of players with 10 minutes remaining.

It was Enniskillen who actually started the better of the two sides with Ronan Beattie hitting the back of the net in the opening 50 seconds to give his side a dream start.

Conall Quinn and Ronan Fegan then exchanged scores for each side before Burren hit a scoring spree with points coming from Declan Murdock, Ronan Fegan and goals from Liam Kerr and Declan Murdock to put them 2-3 to 1-2 ahead after 15 minutes.

The goals continued to flow for Burren as Conor McCartan finished off a flowing move before Enniskillen’s Callum Jones hit a much needed point, although Burren held a 3-7 to 1-3 lead at the break.

Declan Murdock and Aaron Laverty pointed early on for Burren in the second-half to give them a huge 12-point lead before it was reduced to nine as Callum Jones showed his class with a low shot into the back of the net.

It was Burren though who were holding all the aces as Ronan Fegan, Liam Kerr and Declan Murdock added further scores.

With 12 minutes to go Burren added a fourth goal through Conor McCartan before Declan Murdock hit a fifth goal just three minutes later as Burren made a raft of substitutes before hitting three final points.

Next up for Burren are the winners of Kilrea and Carrickmore who meet on Box Day with the final scheduled for January 1.

BURREN: Kelly; M McAvoy, A Fitzpatrick, A McAvoy; T Travers, C Cox, P Fegan; S Fitzpatrick, A Laverty (0-2); L Kerr (1-2), D Murdock (0-1), R Fegan (0-3, 1f); C McCartan (2-0), S Murdock (0-2), D Murdock (2-5, 1f). Subs: R Dalton for S Murdock HT; R McAteer for R Fegan 48m; S O’Hare for A Fitzpatrick 50m; J McShane for T Travers 54m; R Cunningham for L Kerr 57m; S O’Connor for D Murdock 57m.

ENNISKILLEN GAELS: C Newman; E Butler, A Nolan, P Cassidy; N Cassidy, J Cassidy, B Horan; E Beacom, D Keaney (0-1); J Reihill, C Quinn (0-1), E Beresford; R Beattie (1-0), R Quinn, C Jones (1-2). Subs: G Greene for E Beacom 21m; C Frempong for R Beattie 30m (BC); T Boyd for E Beresford HT; E Beacom for E Butler HT; O Corrigan for T Boyd 49m. Yellow cards: P Cassidy 54m. Black card: R Beattie 27m.

Referee: Eamon McHugh (Tyrone).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph