| 13.5°C Belfast

Holy Trinity put Cookstown school into Croker's history

Holy Trinity 0-19 St Nathy's 1-6


Glory boy: Holy Trinity’s Shane Murphy lifts the trophy

Glory boy: Holy Trinity’s Shane Murphy lifts the trophy

Glory boy: Holy Trinity’s Shane Murphy lifts the trophy

The footballers of Holy Trinity Cookstown ensured their place in the history books at Croke Park on Saturday afternoon when they lifted a first ever Paddy Drummond Cup title for the school with an emphatic victory over St.Nathys College.

It was an outstanding display of attacking football from the Tyrone school and afterwards joint manager Aidan O'Hagan was delighted.

"It is unbelievable to think that we are All Ireland champions and all the credit goes to the players," said Aidan.

"We are a hard working, committed side and the boys have always taken anything on board that we have told them.

"They were simply outstanding today, a great bunch of lads, and I couldn't speak highly enough of them."

Holy Trinity made a blistering start to the game with the opening six points and they never looked back, Mark Devlin, Eoin Gallagher (right) and Tiernan Quinn among their marksmen.

James O'Hara kicked two frees for St.Nathys but they needed their keeper Alan Davey to make three outstanding saves to keep the score at 0-9 to 0-2 by the interval.

Holy Trinity kept their foot on the gas on the restart with team Captain Shane Murphy hitting a couple of points and corner forwards Tiernan Quinn and Mark Devlin taking their combined tally to 0-12.

The Roscommon school had to wait until two minutes from time to get their first score from play when their Captain Kuba Callaghan fired to the net but that proved to be only a consolation on a great day for Holy Trinity.

Holy Trinity Cookstown: C Loane, P Quinn, T Quinn (0-1, 1F), T McNamee, O Mulgrew, C Donnelly, M McKearney, E Gallagher (0-1), P Lagan, K Robinson, E Devlin (0-1), S Murphy (0-3,), T Quinn (0-7, 5F), Tiernan Mackle (0-1), M Devlin (0-5, 3F). Subs: C Quinn for E Devlin, A Moore for Mackle, S McKenna for P Quinn, D Canavan for Robinson, Thomas Mackle for Donnelly

St.Nathys College: A Davey, M Dillon, D Casey, B O'Hanlon, S O'Hara, J Lunt, B Molloy (0-1), D McBrien, J Doory, O Hester, J O'Hara (0-2, 2F), L Connor, O Philips (0-1, 1F), K Philips, K Callaghan (1-2, 2F). Subs: L Hester for Dillon, M Coyle for O'Hara, M Finan for O Hester, A Dillon for K Philips, C Groarke for Connor, D McHugh for O'Hanlon

Referee: J Bermingham (Cork).


Belfast Telegraph