Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Hurling: Dublin’s demolition job slays Antrim

By John Campbell

Antrim 0-6 Dublin 3-23: Dublin continued their whirlwind assault on the under-21 championship with a comprehensive 26-point win at in Newry.

The Dubs, who had 12, 13 and 10 points to spare over Carlow, Offaly and Wexford respectively in the defence of their Leinster crown, sealed the win with a devastating second-half display.

They scored 1-10 without reply inside 18 minutes immediately after the re-start to book a place in the All-Ireland final for the first time since 2007.

It's another landmark event in a hugely successful season for Dublin hurling and the under-21s now join the minors in All-Ireland finals against Galway next month.

Dublin got off to a perfect start, with Mark Schutte — also a member of Pat Gilroy's senior football squad — crashing through for a goal in the first minute.

After 16 minutes, the Dubs were 1-5 to 0-2 in front, with Martin Quilty dominant in defence and the roving Kevin O'Loughlin causing trouble up front.

Antrim were starved of possession by a sharper Dublin who led 1-9 to 0-3 at half-time.

Sean McGrath netted on the rebound just 20 seconds into the second-half as Dublin reeled off 10 points before Paddy McNaughton replied in the 49th minute and they could afford to take off senior star Liam Rushe before the finish as they cruised to victory.

SCORERS: Antrim: C McCann 0-3f, J Black, M Devlin, P McNaughton 0-1 each. Dublin: K O'Loughlin 0-7 (4f, 1 sl), M Schutte 1-3, S McGrath 1-1, B Quinn 1-0, D Plunkett, N McMorrow 0-3 each, E Dillon 0-2, D Curran, C Gough, T Connolly, O O Maoileidigh 0-1 each.

ANTRIM: E Gillan; T McAllister, K McKiernan, C O'Loughlin; P McKeague, M Armstrong, N Cunningham, C Laverty, P McNaughton; J Black, M Devlin, T McCloskey; D McLean, C McCann, S Smyth. Subs: C Gillan for M Devlin (33), A Downey for McKeague (46), B Curran for Laverty (56).

DUBLIN: G McManus; B O'Carroll, D Kelly, J Doughan; D Curran, L Rushe, M Quilty; C Gough, D Sutcliffe; D Plunkett, M Schutte, N McMorrow; K O'Loughlin, S McGrath, E Dillon. Subs: F Clabby for O'Carroll (42), T Connolly for O'Loughlin (inj (45), S O'Connor for Sutcliffe (48), O O Maoileidigh for McGrath (49), B Quinn for Rushe (53).

Referee: F Smyth (Meath).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph