Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Keogan hopes to keep up momentum

Cavan's patience was finally rewarded when they secured the respite they were seeking in Division Two of the National Football League via that surprise win over Cork last weekend.

But it could well prove only a temporary stay of execution, however.

Donal Keogan's side, still lingering in the basement of the table, must travel to Mullingar tomorrow to confront a Westmeath side who made short work of Roscommon last weekend.

The midlanders, who dished out a shock to Armagh earlier in the campaign, boast a solid defence that could deprive Cavan of the chance to replicate the scoring touch they revealed against the Leesiders.

More pertinently, it was Seanie Johnston who carried Cavan though, his nine superb points - six from play - emphasising his immense value to the team.

Obviously he will be a marked man tomorrow particularly as Westmeath still fancy their chances of jostling for promotion.

Anthony Forde and Jonathan Crowe are back in the Cavan side while Jason O'Reilly joins the deadly Johnston and Eddie O'Reilly in a strong full-forward line.

Old warhorse Dermot McCabe is still doing the business for the Breffni side in midfield and he will certainly have a key role tomorrow in terms of fetching and carrying.

Meanwhile, the much delayed second Sigerson Cup semi-final between GMIT and Garda College has been rescheduled for April 15.

And UUJ will be delighted to hear that, given that they have been patiently waiting for several weeks now to discover just who they will be meeting in the decider.

The semi-final had been fixed for Kiltoom next Tuesday, but has been put back a week due to the fact that four GMIT players are involved in the Connacht under 21 football final between Roscommon and Mayo on Monday, which is also taking place in Kiltoom.

The Sigerson Cup final is fixed for Carlow IT Grounds on April 22 - but UUJ are already seeking a change of venue.

CAVAN: J Reilly; M Hannon, P Reilly, M Brides; J Crowe, A Forde, D Sheridan; D McCabe, J Cunningham; M Reilly, R Flanagan, M McKeever; E O'Reilly, S Johnston, J O'Reilly.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph