Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Kieran McGeeney shuffles Armagh pack

By John Campbell

Armagh and Donegal clashed in one of the best matches in the All-Ireland Football Championship last August, the north-west side triumphing by a single point in a thrilling quarter-final.

Both teams will share a rather more modest goal tomorrow when they bid to book places in the semi-final of the Bank of Ireland Dr McKenna Cup.

Armagh travel to face Antrim at Creggan with manager Kieran McGeeney having made alterations to his line-up from last weekend's loss to Tyrone while Donegal will host Queen's at Ballybofey anxious to atone for their lapse against Derry in round one.

Michael McKenna and Mark McConville are among the newcomers to the Orchard County ranks who get another chance to prove their worth while Jamie Clarke, who played as sweeper when introduced as a substitute last Sunday, could again fulfil that role now that he is included in the starting line-up at left-half-back.

Matthew McNeice takes over from the injured Niall Geoghegan in goal while Finnian Moriarty is skipper in the absence of Ciaran McKeever.

Antrim manager Frank Fitzsimmons is seeking greater fire-power from his attack following a one-point win over St Mary's but accepts that the Armagh defence will be hard to break down.

Donegal, meanwhile, were considerably weakened last weekend but manager Rory Gallagher expects to field a more formidable side tomorrow and is keen to see much greater fluency.

The Donegal defence was much too porous last weekend because of the absence of some of its big guns and Fermanagh man Gallagher is anxious to see this deficiency remedied.

Meanwhile, in the Ulster U21 club football tournament hosted by the Kickhams Creggan club, St Eunan's Letterkenny and St Peter's Warrenpoint will clash in the first of the quarter-finals today (1.30pm).

Armagh: M McNeice; M McConville, B Donaghy, M Murray; M Shields, F Moriarty, J Clarke; A Findon, S Campbell; S Forker, M McKenna, E McVerry; O Mac Iomhair, C Rafferty, N McConville

Antrim: C Kerr; M Kane, C Burke, C O'Rawe; J Laverty, D Lynch, P Mc Aleer; J Carron, O Gallagher; C Murray, C J McGourty, D Mc Aleese; C Johnson, M Magill, E McNeill.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph