| 11.1°C Belfast

Kilkenny celebrate final triumph


Hurling action

Hurling action

Hurling action

Kilkenny handed out a National Hurling League Division One final mauling to Cork at Semple Stadium.

The All-Ireland champions won their first league title since 2009 with ease, blitzing the Rebels with three goals in the first half on their way to a 3-21 to 0-16 success.

Eoin Larkin grabbed the opening goal after just four minutes, and after Colin Fennelly added a second, they led by 2-6 to 0-1 with 10 minutes played.

TJ Reid blasted home a third goal for the Cats on 34 minutes, and at half-time, they led by 3-11 to 0-6.

Patrick Horgan and Niall McCarthy pulled back points for Cork, but they never looked like dragging themselves back into contention, and Larkin, Colin Fennelly and Matthew Ruth all added points for rampant Kilkenny.

The only sour note for Brian Cody's side on an otherwise perfect afternoon was an injury to Michael Fennelly, who suffered suspected ankle ligament damage.

Meanwhile, Dublin won their third All-Ireland U21 football title with a late surge which saw off Roscommon's brave challenge at Tullamore.

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

Roscommon made the early running with points from Donie Smith and Colin Compton, but a 1-3 salvo from Paul Hudson, including a stoppage goal, sent the Dubs in with a 1-5 to 0-6 interval lead.

Roscommon went two points clear, but the Dubs hit 1-5 in the final 12 minutes, including a Paul Mannion goal, to win by 2-12 to 0-11 and make it two titles in the past three seasons.

Top Videos