Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Kilkenny dominate All-Stars team

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny have taken the 2011 Hurling All-Stars by storm.

The Cats have eight representatives on the team, with beaten finalists Tipperary, receiving four awards.

Only four counties are represented on the team, with Dublin (2) and Waterford (1) completing the line up.

The announcement marks a special milestone for Kilkenny attacker Henry Shefflin, who has established a new record with his tenth award.

He won his first award in 2000 and his ninth in 2009 brought him level with Pat Spillane (in the 1976-1986 period) and D.J. Carey (1991-2002).

The 2011 GAA GPA Football All-Stars sponsored by Opel will be announced on live broadcast on RTÉ One Television on Friday, October 21st at 7pm along with the Player of the Year Awards, Young Player of the Year Awards and the Ring, Rackard and Meagher Cup Player of the Year Awards.


From Belfast Telegraph