| 15.4°C Belfast

Last-gasp penalty save spares Omagh blushes against St Colman's

Omagh CBS keeper Patrick O'Neill proved to be his side's hero at Emyvale yesterday when he saved a penalty with seconds left in a pulsating Danske Bank MacRory Cup quarter-final replay.

Moments earlier, Ronan McHugh had edged the Tyrone lads in front but it looked to be in vain when Joe Morgan was fouled inside the box. Three days earlier, Oisin O'Neill had converted a spot kick but this time his namesake dived to his right to save.

After a quarter of an hour, a rampant Omagh side were 1-5 to 0-0 to the good with McHugh getting the goal and Conan McElduff contributing a couple of points.

It took the Newry lads 23 minutes to get on the board when Conor Gilmore pointed but then both he and Jack Haughey scored twice each to leave them only 1-6 to 0-5 adrift at halftime.

Sean McGale extended Omagh's lead but St. Colman's hit back with points from Morgan, Haughey and Gilmore before a Conal Gordon goal gave them the lead. Omagh had to force extra time through McElduff.

In extra time, Haughey and Slane traded scores before the former gave his side a one point lead. Gavin Slane levelled before the dramatic finish.

Omagh CBS: P O'Neill, C McQuaid, C McCann, D Mullan, R Samir, T McNamee, S McGale [0-1], J Darcy, B McDonnell, A McSorley [0-3], J Colton [0-1], R McHugh [1-2], A Fullerton, C McElduff [0-3], G Slane [0-4, 4f]. Subs – M Coreless for Fullerton, R Bradley for McDonnell, O McCann for McGale, E Murray for McNamee, P Cassidy for Samir

Daily Headlines & Evening Telegraph Newsletter

Receive today's headlines directly to your inbox every morning and evening, with our free daily newsletter.

This field is required

St. Colman's Newry: J Heaney, C Brown, O Donnelly, C Gordon [1-0], P O'Hagan, R McQuaid, L McGreevy, F Aiken, O O'Neill, P Og McCrickard [0-1], J Haughey [0-6, 2f], J Morgan [0-1], C Gilmore [0-4, 3f], J Kearns, C Magee. Subs – A McKiernan for Kearns, P Keating [0-1] for Donnelly, G McElroy for Brown, J Kearns for Magee

Referee: P McEneaney (Monaghan).

Top Videos