| 13°C Belfast

League success a great consolation for Errigal

Errigal Ciaran 1-13 Coalisland 1-8: Errigal Ciaran gained some measure of revenge for their defeat in the quarter-final of the championship when they retained the Tyrone senior league title at Eglish yesterday afternoon.

Peter Canavan’s side were full value for their win as on the day they were the better side against a Fianna outfit who narrowly missed out on a place in the Ulster Club Final seven days earlier.

It was 0-3 apiece at the end of the opening quarter with Stephen Curran, Plunkett Kane and Brian Toner on target for Coalisland with Peter Harte scoring a brace for Errigal Ciaran after Ronan McRory had opened their account.

Errigal Ciaran then made a decisive break and after a point from the outstanding Davy Harte they moved five clear when midfielder John Kelly scored a goal. Kane responded with a Coalisland point but it was Errigal Ciaran who led 1-6 to 0-5 at the interval.

Ronan McRory and Dermot Thornton traded points on the restart before a sweeping Coalisland move resulted in Kane finding the net to make it a two point game. That’s when Errigal Ciaran though seized the initiative with county trio Davy Harte, Enda McGinley and Peter Harte all prominent.

McGinley and Peter Harte both pointed before Coalisland were dealt a blow when corner back Liam Wylie was sent off for a second yellow card offence. Paddy McNeice did close the gap with a point but Errigal Ciaran weren’t to be denied with Davy and Peter Harte both finding the target.

Errigal Ciaran: R McAnennly, B Mullan, D McDermott, A McCrory, D Harte [0-3], B Canavan, P Quinn, C McGinley, J Kelly [1-0], A O’Donnell, P Harte [0-4], Ciaran McGinley [0-1], R McRory [0-2], E McGinley [0-2], M Loughran. Subs – C Tierney [0-1] for Loughran, B Horisk for Kelly, T Canavan for O’Donnell

Coalisland: J Curran, L O’Neill, P Donnelly, L Wylie, S McNally, N Kerr, P O’Farrell, P McGahan, P Toner [0-1], P Kane [1-2], B Toner [0-1], S Curran [0-1], P McNeice [0-1], T O’Hagan, G Toner [0-1]. D Thornton [0-1] for G Toner, C Bayne for S Curran, R Thornton for O’Hagan

Referee: M Sludden (Dromore)

Belfast Telegraph