Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Mark Lynch inspires a late Derry victory over Cavan

Cavan 1-11 Derry 1-12

By Paul Fitzpatrick

A thrilling clash in freezing conditions was decided by a 65th minute free from Mark Lynch, with Derry valiantly holding out.

The score was 0-2 apiece after 12 minutes with Mark Craig and Ciaran McFaul helping Derry into a two-point lead before Dara McVeety and Eugene Keating (free) tied it up.

McFaul, Gearoid McKiernan and James Kielt (free) all pointed but the half turned on 29 minutes when Ryan Bell missed a penalty for Derry. Buoyed, Cavan poured forward and levelled through Paul O'Connor.

Better was to follow for the hosts as Tomás Corr and McKiernan made it 0-6 to 0-4.

Emmett Bradley's point meant Derry went in 0-6 to 0-5 down at half-time but they struck with intent with a palmed Caoilean O'Boyle goal a minute into the second-half.

A score from Kielt extended their advantage before Martin Reilly and Heron traded scores but Cavan put on a surge again.

First David Givney pointed then sub Michael Argue rifled home but two frees from Lynch edged Derry in front before sub Shane Heavron floated over a beauty to make it 1-11 to 1-9 with 10 minutes to go.

By the time three of them had elapsed, Cavan had clawed it back with frees from McKiernan and sub Seanie Johnston but Lynch then won it for Derry.

Cavan: R Galligan, P Faulkner, K Clarke, K Brady, C Brady, C Moynagh, F Flanagan, T Corr (0-1), G McKiernan (0-3, 1f) M Reilly (0-1f), D Givney (0-1), D McVeety (0-1) C Mackey (0-1), E Keating (0-1f), P O'Connor (0-1). Subs: C Conroy for McKiernan (BC, 65 mins), T Hayes for Keating (60 mins), S Johnston (0-1f) for O'Connor (54 mins), M Argue (1-0) for K Brady (47 mins), J Hayes for McVeety (50 mins)

Derry: E McNicholl, K McKaigue, C McKaigue, C Mullan, G McKinless, M Craig (0-1), D Heavron (0-1), E Bradley (0-1), M Lynch (0-3f), B Herron, C McFaul (0-2), C Bradley (0-1), C O'Boyle (1-0), E McGuckin, R Bell, J Kielt (0-2, 1f). Subs: E McGuckin for C O'Boyle (46 mins), N Loughlin for R Bell (52 mins), C McAtamney for E Bradley (68 mins), S Heavron (0-1) for B Herron (56 mins), D McKinless for C Bradley (70 mins)

Referee: P Neilan (Roscommon)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph