Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Mayo 2-25 Kerry 1-17

Mayo are through to the Division One final after edging past Kerry in a rip-roaring encounter that required extra time at Croke Park.

Mayo enjoyed a great start with the lively Conor Mortimer hitting four points as they raced into a |0-6 to 0-1 lead, midfielder Bryan Sheehan with Kerry’s point from a free.

The Kingdom hit back with scores from Colm Cooper, Kieran O’Leary and Anthony Maher.

Mortimer got a much needed Mayo score from a 13 metre free but Kerry responded via a Cooper free and a superb point from play by Sheehan to level.

It was Mayo though who finished the half the stronger, Mortimer landing his sixth point of the first period.

The second half was only 20 seconds old when Mayo increased their advantage with Dillon’s second point but by the seventh minute the gap was down to the minimum again after Cooper converted a free and Paul Galvin lofted over a fine point from play.

A Sheehan free then levelled matters before O’Sullivan put Kerry in front for the first time.

Cooper knocked over another free and in the 55th minute substitute James O’Donoghue first timed the ball to the net for a five point lead.

With two minutes to go though Galvin gave away a penalty which Pat Harte converted to set up a tense finale.

Four minutes into injury time Killian O’Connor won a free which he converted himself to send the tie to extra time.

Kerry led at half time in extra time thanks to points from Sheehan and Barry John Keane before Colm Boyle got Mayo’s crucial second goal.

With the sides level substitute Richie Feeney became the Mayo hero with a superb winner.

Mayo scorers: C Mortimer 0-7 (4f), C Boyle 1-1, P O’Hare 1-0, K O’Connor (1f), A Dillon 0-2 each, A Moran, K Higgins, R Feeney |0-1 each.

Kerry scorers: B Sheehan 0-6 (5f), C Cooper 0-4 (3f), J O’Donoghue 1-0, BJ Keane |0-2, A Maher, P Galvin, K O’Leary, P Curtin, D O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph