Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Mayo on course for five titles in a row

By John Campbell

Reigning Connacht champions Mayo took a decisive step towards retaining their title when they beat Galway by 2-8 to 1-15 at Pearse Stadium, Salthill, yesterday in a semi-final that was like the curate's egg - good in parts.

Cillian O'Connor was the star performer as his nine points took Mayo another step along the way to lifting the crown for the fifth year in a row.

Galway were the last team to achieve that feat back in 1960 and offered a threat to Mayo's hopes in the opening period with the teams level 0-8 to 1-5 at the break at Pearse Stadium with Gary Sice scoring for the Tribesmen.

In the 37th minute there was a scramble in the Galway goalmouth and Manus Breathnach blasted the ball off Hanley and back into his own net.

It was a killer blow and Mayo stretched away as Galway lost their way and they will face either Sligo or Roscommon in the Connacht final, with those two meeting next weekend.

Meanwhile, in the Munster Senior Football Championship semi-sinals, there were no surprises with Cork overcoming Clare by 1-20 to 1-8 while Kerry accounted for Tipperary by 2-14 to 2-8. In Leinster, Kildare saw off Laois in their replay while Meath were too strong for Wicklow and Westmeath defeated Wexford.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph