Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

McHugh just misses out on succeeding McEniff

By Micheal McGeary

Former Donegal All Star footballer Martin McHugh failed by a narrow margin of three votes in his bid to replace Brian McEniff as Central Council delegate at the Donegal GAA Convention in Ballyshannon.

He was beaten by former county secretary Noreen Doherty in a very tight contest that went to a fourth vote after three extra votes were cast in round three. The final margin was 73-70 in favour of Ms Doherty.

Noreen's brother PJ McGowan was elected as the new chairman of Donegal in the first contest of Convention. McGowan replaces Sean Kelly who had completed his three year term.

The Convention also saw the end of a long period of service on the Executive of Brian McEniff, whose term as Central Council delegate ended.

County secretary Charlie |O’Donnell stepped down from office prior to Convention and didn’t seek re-election.

Officers elected at Donegal GAA Convention, held in Ballyshannon were: chairman, PJ McGowan; vice-chairman, Naul McCole; secretary, not filled; treasurer, Grace Boyle; assistant treasurer, Frankie Doherty; PRO, Alma Kavanagh; Development Officer, Michael McMenamin; Oifigeach na Gaeilge, Alan Boyd; Youth Officer, Liam McElhinney; Coaching Officer, Seamus McAnaw; Central Council delegate, Noreen Doherty; Ulster Council delegates, Edward Molloy and Mick |McGrath.

Down also have a new county chairman, Seamus Walsh beating off the challenge of John Devanney by 89 votes to 42.

Walsh, a Dundrum businessman and the outcoing vice chairman, succeeds Kevin Bell who wasn’t seeking re-election.

Bell in his farewell speech to Convention hit out at the inordinate amount of canvassing that had taken place.

He also said he felt snubbed that as county chairman he wasn’t part of the committee set up to select a new county manager during the summer.

Devanney also lost out in the race for vice chairman to Glassdrumman’s William John Smith while outgoing chairman Kevin Bell beat off the challenge of Brian McAvoy 97 votes to 36 for the Central Council post.

The county’s two new Ulster Council delegates are Diarmaid Cahill and John Devanney.

Change was also the order of the day at the Derry convention. Outgoing chairman Seamus McCloy was succeeded by Castledawson’s John Keenan who overcame Anthony McSwiggan 72 to 22.

Michael McCracken won the race for vice chairman overcoming Breige O’Neill of Bannagher and Charlie Bonnar of Na Magha.

Liam Peoples was returned unopposed as secretary while Mark Gannon of Limavady is the new treasurer beating off Colm O’Kane of Na Magha 56-32.

PRO Sean Cunning was returned unopposed while Chris McCann is the new youth officer.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph