Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Moynagh lifts Cavan to glory

A remarkable second half display saw Cavan lift the Ulster minor title at St. Tiernach's Park, Clones.

Behind by four points at the break, the Cavan boys seemed to be out of the contest as they failed to score in the second quarter, but they were much the better side in the second half as Conor Moynagh drove them forward from centre back with a brilliant individual display to lift the minor title for the first time since 1974.

They held an Armagh side which were strong favourites for the title scoreless in the second period with a magnificent defensive performance.

The first half was divided into periods of dominance for both sides. Cavan were much brighter in the opening quarter and after Michael Argue set up Conor Finnegan for the opening point on five minutes, the Breffni men hit a purple patch with four points in as many minutes between the ninth and 13th minutes.

They were also denied a goal as Andrew Graham had an effort saved by David O'Hagan in the Armagh goals on 12 minutes.

But, as the second quarter began, Armagh began to find their feet and they were equally impressive in front of goals, hitting five points in five minutes with the impressive Paul McGeown (2), Conor White, Ethan Rafferty and Conor McNally pointing.

The Orchard men took a decisive step on 21 minutes when McNally found McGeown in front of goal and the full-forward shook off his marker to fire low to the Cavan net with his left.

The third quarter was a dour affair but Cavan slowly but surely found their feet with Michael Argue getting the opening score of the half on 44 minutes.

The margin was quickly reduced to the minimum but it was not until the final five minutes that Cavan transferred their dominance to the scoreboard.

Paul Graham levelled with four minutes left and Andrew Graham, Nevin O'Donnell and the burly Conor Finnegan sent the big Cavan support into raptures.

Just before the end Armagh were reduced to 14 when midfielder Aaron Findon picked up a second yellow card.

Armagh: D O'Hagan; S Hughes, M Murphy, C Hoey; P Burns, B McCarron, C White (0-1); A Findon, E Rafferty (0-1); C Gough (0-1), C O'Hanlon, M McKenna; C McNally (0-1), P McGeown (1-2,1f), C Cumiskey. Subs., R McShane for Gough 40; P Og Grant for McNally 44; C Trainor for Rafferty 51

Cavan: B O'Mara; K Clarke, C Smith, B Sankey; C Brady, C Moynagh, G Smith (0-1); D McVeety (0-1), P Graham (0-1); A Dewart, C Finnegan (0-2), M Argue (0-1); A Graham (0-3), J Dillon (0-1), K Bouchier. Subs., N O'Donnell (0-2,1f) for Bouchier 40; L Buchanan for Dewart 41; V Coyle for Dillon 51

Referee: C O'Hagan (Tyrone).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph