Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

National Football League: Breen set to be number one again

The forgotten man of Fermanagh football is hoping to return to Allianz Football League action shortly.

A troublesome leg injury has kept goalkeeper Chris Breen sidelined for the best part of a year but now that he has regained his fitness the Quinn Insurance company representative has his sights fixed on the No 1 shirt again.

He may be an absentee when Fermanagh open their Division Four campaign against Carlow on Sunday but Breen is poised to mount a challenge against the other candidates for the berth, Fergal Murphy and James McGrath.

Belcoo clubman McGrath is the man in possession — last year St Gall’s ace Ronan Gallagher was between the posts for the Ernesiders — but now new boss John O’Neill is happy with the resources he has.

“The return of Chris Breen to full fitness is a big bonus for us and this will help competition for places,” said O’Neill.


Four modern-day players have made the Sigerson Cup ‘Team of the Century', which was announced yesterday. Kerry's Maurice Fitzgerald and Seamus Moynihan are joined by Tyrone's Peter Canavan and Derry's Sean Martin Lockhart in the line-up.

Sigerson Cup Team of Century: Jimmy McGaugran (UCG & Roscommon, 1936-40); Sean Marty Lockhart (UUJ & Derry, 1996-2000), John O'Keeffe (UCD & Kerry, 1970-75), Sean Flanagan (UCD & Mayo, 1944-46); PJ Duke (UCD & Cavan, 1945-50), Seamus Moynihan (UCC/IT Tralee & Kerry, 1994-98), Martin Newell (UCG & Galway, 1960-64); Padraig Carney (UCD & Mayo, 1945-50), Jim McDonnell (UCD & Cavan, 1954-58); Brendan Lynch (UCC & Kerry, 1968-72), Maurice Fitzgerald (UCC & Kerry, 1987-90), Jackie Walsh (UCD & Kerry, 1971-78); Jim Brosnan (UCC & Kerry, 1950-53), Sean O'Neill (QUB & Down, 1958-65), Peter Canavan (St Mary's & Tyrone, 1990-94)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph