Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

National Football League: Sligo 0-8 Derry 0-11

Paddy Bradley inspired Derry to their third win of the campaign as sloppy Sligo, yet to win in four attempts, were unable to make their numerical advantage count at Markievicz Park.

The winners absorbed the 25th-minute dismissal of Eoin Bradley — following a challenge on Sligo defender Neil Ewing — and with Paddy Bradley in superb form, effective Derry were always that one step ahead of a Sligo side that have yet to touch the heights of last year.

Leading 0-7 to 0-3 at the interval after a wind-assisted first half, Derry were almost made to regret seven first-half wides as Sligo’s improved second-half display made for some uncomfortable moments in the Derry rearguard.

Sligo, who prop up the table with three games left, were frustrated by their stunted attack and when they did fashion a goal chance — Eamonn O’Hara set up Kenneth Sweeney 15 minutes into the second-half — Derry goalkeeper Danny Devlin was resolute.

Sligo: S Farrell, C Harrison, N Ewing, R Donovan, D Rooney (0-1), M Quinn, P McGovern, T Taylor, C Davey, Curran, M Breheny (0-2), F Quinn, A Marren (0-5), E O’Hara, K Sweeney. Subs: Costello for F Quinn (half-time), Cawley for M Quinn, (42); Gilmartin for Sweeney (55); Hughes for B Curran (58); Maye for Breheny (70).

Derry: D Devlin, C Mullan, K McCloy, |D McBride, J Kielt, G O’Kane, A McAlynn, |PJ McCloskey (0-1), Friel, C McGoldrick, |S McGoldrick, M Donaghy (0-2), E Bradley, P Bradley (0-7), E Muldoon (0-1). Subs: McGuckian (5) for C McGoldrick (55); |D Mullan for Friel (58); B McGoldrick for |S McGoldrick (70).

Referee: R O’Donnell (Donegal).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph