Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

NFL Division Four: Fermanagh news reverts to on-pitch activity

Fermanagh 0-17 Clare 0-9: In a week when Fermanagh grabbed the headlines for the wrong reasons, players loyal to boss John O'Neill let their feet do the talking with a brilliant display that blew Clare away on a sunny Sunday in Brewster Park.

Barry Mulrone drew breath after the final whistle and praised ‘every single player' on the Fermanagh squad.

Eleven players who left the Fermanagh squad at different times this year put their name to a statement saying they were dissatisfied with the Fermanagh management but the 28 players who remain gave Erne boss O'Neill and his selectors something to smile about with the year’s best performance.

In the game itself Fermanagh recovered from a poor opening.

On top in midfield and with perfect ball into the inside line the Munster men took a four point lead, all from David Tubridy.

A reshuffle in the Fermanagh defence saw John Woods leave the field injured and Mulrone move back to corner back to pick up the dangerous Tubridy. Daniel Kille entered the fray for the Erne men in attack and the Lisnaskea club man was to provide some much needed spark into the Fermanagh forward line.

The precise point kicking was catching with brothers Terry and John O'Flanagan both hitting great scores before the break to give Fermanagh a two point cushion. It was a case of more of the same in the second half for Fermanagh as they outscored Clare 10 points to four.

A mighty roar at full time saw the crowd applaud the team with captain Barry Owens leading his men in returning the compliment.

Fermanagh: J McGrath, J Woods, B Owens, M Jones (0-3), C Quigley (0-1), B Mulrone, K Cosgrove, H Brady, M O'Brien, T O'Flanagan (0-2), N Cassidy, R Jones, P Ward (0-1), J O'Flanagan (0-3), S Quigley (0-1). Subs: D Kille (0-4) for Woods (10), B Og Maguire for Cassidy (20), J O'Brien for Ward (60), C O'Brien for D Kille (65)

Clare: J Hayes, B Duggan, L Healy, M McMahon, K Hartnett, G Kelly, S McNeiles, C O'Connor, G Brennan, C Ryan, J Hayes, S Brennan (0-1), D Tubridy (0-7), N Browne, A Clohessy (0-1). Subs: M Tubridy for S Brennan (HT), B Quinlan for N Browne (HT), D O'Connor for Ryan (68)

Referee: S McNamee (Tyrone)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph