Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Omagh stroll through as St Mary’s pay price

Omagh CBS 0-18 St Mary’s 0-8

Omagh CBS cruised into their second MacRory Cup final in a row when they had 10 points to spare over a St Mary’s, Magherafelt side that finished with only 13 men at Celtic Park last night.

It was Omagh CBS who led by double scores at the break 0-8 to 0-4 and they were full value for that advantage.

It was the Derry lads who opened the scoring in the third minute through midfielder Conor McCann but Omagh CBS were soon back on level terms thanks to a converted free from Conan Grugan.

A blistering 40-metre run from Conor Clarke finished with him putting Omagh in front before Grugan weighed in with another point for a 0-3 to 0-1 lead.

With Aaron Devlin getting through a lot of work for the Derry lads on the 40, the Omagh defence were kept on their toes but they were coping admirably with anything that came their way.

Three points from Ronan O’Neill and another from Grugan left Omagh well in control but a couple of frees from Devlin kept Magherafelt within touching distance.

Omagh should have had a goal but Colly McRory’s shot was well saved by Declan McCann with O’Neill putting the rebound wide. It was Omagh who had the final say of the half with a well taken score from impressive midfielder Sean Warnock.

Devlin and Colly McRory traded points on the restart before Magherafelt were dealt a blow when midfielder Conor McCann picked up his second yellow in the seventh minute.

After that Omagh took complete control with Grugan and O’Neill landing a series of points. Cathair McCullagh then weighed in with an outstanding point from out on the right wing as the Magherafelt challenge faded badly.

Devlin knocked over another free for Magherafelt but the one way traffic continued with Niall Sludden coming forward to land a superb point.

A miserable night for Magherafelt was complete when full forward David McGuckin was sent off for a second yellow card offence after a needless foul on O’Neill.

Omagh will now play St Colman’s in the St Patrick’s Day decider.

Omagh CBS: R Clarke, S Mullan, R O’Neill, A O’Donnell, N Sludden [0-1], T Canavan, D Bradley, C Grugan [0-6], S Warnock [0-1], D Connolly, R O’Neill [0-4], C Clarke [0-1], J McCullagh [0-1], C McCullagh [0-2], C McRory [0-2]. Subs: S Tierney for O’Donnell, R Lynch for C McCullagh, J Devine for Ryan O’Neill, T Gallagher for J McCullagh

St Mary’s, Magherafelt: D McCann, F McGrenaghan, C Gilmore, M Breen, P Quinn, N Rocks, C Kearney, C McCann [0-1], A McKeown [0-1], C Kearns, A Devlin [0-5], C Conway, E McKillion, D McGuckin, F Duffin. Subs: S Cassidy for Conway, J McKenna for Kearns, N Doyle [0-1] for McKillion

Referee: J McKee (Armagh)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph