Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

O'Neill handed Cork captaincy

Shane O'Neill is the new captain of the Cork hurlers.

He was vice-captain last season, and makes the step up to succeed Kieran Murphy.

O'Neill made his senior championship debut in 2007, the same season as he skippered the county's U21 team to the Munster title.

Meanwhile, Galway football manager Tomas O Flatharta has taken the unusual step of appointing three captains.

Defenders Kieran Fitzgerald and Finian Hanley, along with attacker Michael Meehan, will share the role in 2011.


From Belfast Telegraph