Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Pressure on Fermanagh as Rebels turn up heat

Cork 1-14 Fermanagh 0-9

Fermanagh look as if they are going to be involved in a scrap at the bottom of Division Two as they suffered a second successive defeat in a 1-14 to 0-09 loss to Cork in Pairc Ui Rinn yesterday.

The win was Cork's first win of the campaign and they were good value for it as they dominated matters from start to finish with Niall Coakley's 24th minute goal giving them a comfortable cushion that they didn't relinquish over the remainder of the game. The sides swapped points early on through the lively Paul Kerrigan and Tomas Corrigan but Cork moved three ahead as Kerrigan, Coakley and John O'Rourke rattled over points.

Fermanagh were struggling but two long range efforts from Sean Quigley gave them hope as they edged to within one point.

That was as good as it got though for Fermanagh as Donncha O'Connor clipped over a neat point before O'Connor and Kerrigan combined to tee up Coakley who finished to the net from close range.

With Coakley and Kerrigan tagging on further points the home side moved into a 1-07 to 0-03 advantage before Eddie Courtney registered the last score of the half to leave six in it at the break.

The sides shared the first six points of the second half with Quigley notching all three for Fermanagh while Brian O'Driscoll, Coakley and Luke Connolly were on target for Cork to leave it 1-10 to 0-07.

Fermanagh goalkeeper Thomas Treacy pulled off two fine saves in the second half to twice deny Kerrrigan but Coakley and Kerrigan continued to keep the scoreboard ticking over for Cork.

Ryan Jones and Aidan Breen did knock over points for Fermanagh but Cork were in full control and O'Driscoll and Donal Og Hodnett clipped over late points to leave eight points dividing the sides at the conclusion.


Cork: N. Coakley (1-04, 3f), P. Kerrigan (0-04), B. O'Driscoll (0-02), D. O'Connor (0-01), L. Connolly (0-01), J. O'Rourke (0-01), D Og Hodnett (0-01)

Fermanagh: S. Quigley (0-05, 3f, 1'45), T. Corrigan (0-01), A. Breen (0-01), E. Courtney (0-01), R. Jones (0-01).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph