Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Quigley inspires Roslea to glory

Fermanagh Football Final

By John Campbell

Roslea 1-10 Teemore 1-7: Seamus Quigley’s relationship with Fermanagh manager John O’Neill this year could be said to have veered from lukewarm to frigid.

But yesterday the chunky Roslea forward turned up the temperature to red-hot when he produced a scintillating solo show that saw his team retain their county football championship title at Teemore’s expense.

To say that the enigmatic Quigley flourished on the inviting acres of Brewster Park, Enniskillen, might be to delve into the realms of understatement — his influence on the contest was profound, his ball-winning capacity exceptional and his scoring absolutely crucial to his team’s success.

If skipper James Sherry and Kevin Cosgrove were the midfield providers, then Quigley (pictured) more than anyone was the player who inflicted mortal wounds on Teemore’s morale.

And he struck a particularly telling blow just on the cusp of half-time when, with his side 1-3 to 0-4 in arrears, he was upended going through but picked himself up and slotted home the resultant penalty to transform the course of the match.

Roslea’s subsequent 1-5 to 1-4 interval advantage may have appeared tenuous but, when the unstoppable Quigley fired over four unanswered points within a blistering 10 minute spell at the start of the second-half, Teemore’s aspirations of toppling the champions had all but vanished.

Gerry Quinlan’s eighth minute goal had helped sustain Teemore’s momentum and five points from John Fitzpatrick as well as scores from Barry Owens and Declan Fitzpatrick meant that there was never a hint of a white flag but Quigley’s performance — he scored 1-8 in all — helped transport Roslea onto a higher plateau.

Five of Quigley’s points came from frees and three from play — and his overall contribution came right out of the top drawer.

The outcome of the review currently being undertaken into O’Neill’s first season in charge is expected to be made known shortly but whoever is at the helm of operations next year will perhaps do well to woo greater loyalty from Quigley — and that’s just for starters.

Roslea: G Deery; P McKenna, M Beagan, B Sherlock; P Sherry, P Lynch, C Quigley (0-1); J Sherry (0-1), K Cosgrove; L Lynch, N Cassidy, N Cosgrove; E Sherry, Seamus Quigley (1-8, 1-0 pen, 0-3 frees), Sean Quigley. Subs: S Lynch for E Sherry, C Connolly for Beagan, D Mohan for McKenna, R McCormack for L Lynch.

Teemore: M Gilleece; J Donegan, P Martin, D McDonald; D Shannon, D O’Reilly, D Maguire; B Owens (0-1), H Brady; J Fitzpatrick (0-5, 0-3 frees), J McCaffrey, D Lee; L Martin, G Quinlan (1-0), D Fitzpatrick (0-1).

Subs: S Curry for Martin, S Maguire for Shannon, D Drumm for Quinlan, G Fitzpatrick for McCaffrey, L Martin for Curry.

Referee: F Cleary (Kinawley).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph