Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Rebels pick right time to Shine

Cork 1-16 Roscommon 0-10

Roscommon might have outnumbered Cork in the stands, and by a very large degree at that, but they couldn’t propel their heroes to a shock victory over the Leesiders.

The Connacht champions’ voracious appetite for work clearly upset Cork’s rhythm and despite leading by 0-6 to 0-5 at half-time, Conor Counihan made three substitutions, and was forced to move Graham Canty to full-back to police the ever-dangerous Donie Shine.

Daniel Goulding kicked four points as Cork eased into a four-point lead by the 23rd minute, but Roscommon stuck to their guns and gradually got themselves back into the game.

Shine was to the forefront, scoring three points in the opening period and with John Rogers also on the mark, the primrose and blue were supporters were dreaming of further glory.

Although Pearse O’Neill pointed straight from the throw-in, Roscommon went into overdrive, slotting three points on the trot from Ger Heneghan, Karol Mannion and Michael Finneran to hit the front.

Heneghan might have had a goal but his rising shot was superbly tipped over by Alan Quirke.

One of Cork’s half time introductions, Nicholas Murphy was having quite an influence at midfield though and as Roscommon tired, gaps began to show in their defence.

That allowed the Rebels to push on and five consecutive points put them in control.

When Shine converted a 63rd minute free, the teams were still only separated by four, but O’Neill extinguished Roscommon’s hopes with a goal a minute later, after Alan O’Connor had dispossessed David Casey.

Cork: A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, J O’Sullivan; N O’Leary, G Canty 0-1, P Kissane; D Kavanagh, A Walsh; P Kelly, P O’Neill 1-2, P Kerrigan 0-2, D Goulding 0-6(2fs, 1 45), C Sheehan 0-2, C O’Neill. Subs: D O’Connor 0-3(0-1 pen) for O’Neill (ht); N Murphy for Walsh (ht); J Miskella for O’Sullivan (ht); A O’Connor for Kavanagh (52); E Cotter for Canty inj (59)

Roscommon: G Claffey; S McDermott, P Domican, S Ormsby; D Casey, C Dineen, S Purcell; M Finneran 0-1, K Mannion 0-1; D Keenan, D O’Gara 0-1, C Cregg; J Rogers 0-1, D Shine 0-5(3fs), G Heneghan 0-1. Subs: C Garvey for Purcell (48); K Higgins for Rogers (52); E Kenny for Mannion (55); J Dunning for Cregg (62); J Nolan for Casey (66)

Referee: C Reilly (Meath)

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph