Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Red Hands on a roll as they seal promotion goal

Galway 0-13 Tyrone 1-14

Tyrone’s excellent start to the year moved up another level at Tuam Stadium on Sunday when promotion back to Division One was secured with their fifth win of the campaign.

And with the Red Hands yet to concede a goal in the league this year, Sean Cavanagh playing his first full game and Stephen O’Neill impressing off the bench, Mickey Harte’s team is gathering plenty of momentum.

Kyle Coney landed a string of superb points to fashion Tyrone’s first league win over the Tribesmen since 2003.

Coney turned the screw on Galway after Peter Harte had slotted home a penalty.

Harte dispatched the penalty on 42 minutes after he himself was fouled by Galway corner-back Keith Kelly.

Tyrone lost corner-back PJ Quinn to a straight red card after an off the ball incident with Galway veteran Padraic Joyce but they never looked like surrendering their lead.

Galway’s Paul Conroy failed to convert two great goal chances shortly after the interval.

The first was superbly saved by Jonathan Curran and Conroy tried to place the second chance but his low shot flew wide.

There was never more than a point between them in the opening half until Tyrone surged towards the break with Coney and Owen Mulligan points.

Tyrone pushed on after their goal with Coney landing three outstanding points from play to open up a 1-10 to 0-7 lead after 48 minutes.

It was an advantage that was never threatened.

Scorers for Galway: N Joyce 0-4 (3fs); G Sice 0-3 (1f); G O’Donnell 0-2; P Conroy 0-1; D Cummins 0-1; A Faherty 0-1 (45); P Joyce 0-1 (f)

Scorers for Tyrone: K Coney 0-5 (1f); P Harte 1-0 (pen); O Mulligan 0-3 (3fs); Mark Donnelly 0-1; Matthew Donnelly 0-1; C McCarron 0-1; S Cavanagh 0-1; S O’Neill 0-1; M Penrose 0-1 (f).

Galway: A Faherty; K McGrath, F Hanley, K Kelly; G Bradshaw, D Blake, G O’Donnell; G Higgins, J Bergin, G Sice, D Burke, N Coleman, N Joyce, P Conroy, D Cummins. Subs: T Flynn for Coleman 41m; M Boyle for Bergin 45; P Joyce for Cummins 49; J Duane for Blake 59; C Bane for Burke 67.

Tyrone: J Curran; A McCrory, J McMahon, PJ Quinn, C McCarron, P Harte, D McCaul, M Murphy, S Cavanagh, R McNabb, Mark Donnelly, Matthew Donnelly, K Coney, M Penrose, O Mulligan. Subs: S O’Neill for Penrose 32; A Cassidy for Matthew Donnelly 35; N McKenna for Mark Donnelly 52; C Cavanagh for Murphy 52; C Gormley for McCrory 69.

Referee: E Kinsella (Laois).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph