Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Roslea Shamrocks survive late comeback

By Mark Conway

Roslea 1-12 Ballinagh 0-11: Roslea Shamrocks will play Glenswilly in the Ulster Club championship semi-final in a fortnight after the Quigley brothers, Seamus and Sean, who were only allowed to play after having red cards appealed last week, scored 1-11 out of their 1-12 winning total.

The Shamrocks were cruising to victory as they led 0-11 to 0-04 eight minutes into the second-half against Ulster Club debutants Ballinagh, who showed their worth with a stirring fight back.

The Cavan side scored seven of the next eight points to make it a one point game entering injury-time before Seamie Quigley was hauled down in the square.

Quigley then stepped up to send Declan Beard the wrong way.

Ballinagh started brightly and two excellent points from Colin Gumley and the impressive David Finnegan made for a good start.

Sean set the ball rolling for Roslea when he was fouled after fielding well and Seamie pointed from 14 metres. Seamie Quigley levelled the game with a 40 meres free before Sean put the Shamrocks in front after 12 minutes.

Ballinagh showed why they are Cavan champions with two fine points from play from Padraic O'Reilly and Kevin Smith but it was Roslea who finished the half better. Shane Lynch broke the Quigley scoring domination with an accurate score before a Seamie Quigley free and a majestic point from Sean made it 0-9 to 0-4.

There were two Sean Quigley points at the restart before Ballinagh responded with two frees from Niall McDermott and points from play from Kevin Smith (2), Anthony Gaynor, Tomas Moore and David Finnegan to make it 0-12 to 0-11 entering injury time.

Seamie Quigley then did the rest.

Roslea: S Boyle, P Sherry, C Mulligan, C Quigley, M Beagan, N Cassidy, M Renfrew, K McMahon, J Sherry, N Cosgrove, S McMahon, P Lynch, S Lynch (0-01), Seamie Quigley (1-07, 5f, 1 pen), Sean Quigley (0-04). Subs: N McMahon for Sherry, B Sherlock for S Lynch.

Ballinagh: D Beard, K McBride, P Carroll, C Smith, D McInerney, N O'Reilly, P Bogue, P O'Reilly (0-01), T Moore (0-01), K Smith (0-03), E Brady, D Finnegan (0-02), C Gumley (0-01), N McDermott (0-02, 2f), T Smith, Subs: E McEvoy for McInerney, A Gaynor (0-01) for Brady, B Carthy for T Smith, R O'Reilly for Gumley

Referee: Cathal O'Hagan.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph