Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Scotstown finally lift senior title after wait of 20 years

Scotstown, who last won the Monaghan senior championship in 1993, ended their 20-year wait with an emphatic victory over Clontibret in this low key and at times very disappointing final that was played in front of a crowd of over 5,000 in Clones yesterday afternoon.

Apart from the opening quarter this game was a contest only in name for the remainder of the time as Scotstown took increasing control although Clontibret's cause was not helped as two goalkeeping errors gifted Scotstown two second-half goals that helped push the game beyond Clontibret's reach.

Scotstown led at half-time by 0-10 to 0-5, that margin built up with six unanswered points between the 19th and 28th minutes and when they opened the second-half with a goal and three points in the opening eight minutes, the goal an overhead flick by Shane Carey in the fifth minute, to open an 11-point lead the outcome was effectively sealed.

And to add to their woes Clontibret finished the game with 14 players following the red card dismissal of substitute John Paul Mone in the 13th minute of the second half.

Scotstown: R Beggan 0-1 (f), D McArdle, D Morgan 0-4, M Duffy, P Keenan, W Carroll 0-1, E Caulfield, F Caulfield, J Turley, K Hughes 0-1, S Carey 2-4 (0-2f), D Hughes, P O'Hara, N Corrigan, C McCarthy 0-3 (1f). Subs: B McGinnity 0-1 for E Caulfield, O Heaphey for N Corrigan, D McCague for F Caulfield, F McPhillips for P Keenan, P Grant 0-1 for S Carey.

Clontibret: A Morgan, M Corey, D Mooney, C Boyle, A Rooney, D Mone, C Greenan, P McGuigan, E Greenan, D Savage, V Corey, B Greenan, N Morgan, C McManus 0-7 (5f), M McEniff. Subs: C Lavelle for D Savage, D McDonnell for A Morgan, JP Mone for P McGuigan, F Mone for B Greenan. Referee: M McNally (Corduff).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph