Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Slaughtneil triumph over Kevin Lynch's in Derry Senior Hurling final

By Cahair O'Kane

Slaughtneil retained their Derry Senior Hurling title in the most dramatic circumstances as two goals more than 10 minutes into stoppage time broke Kevin Lynch's hearts.

In a stunning end to what was a gripping encounter, Sé McGuigan found the net in the 70th minute and then Gareth O'Kane won it with a 73rd minute flick past Brian Lagan.

The game had been delayed for 16 minutes early in the second half when Dungiven full-back Conal McCloskey suffered a suspected broken ankle.

He had gone down under a high challenge from Slaughtneil substitute Meehaul McGrath, who was sent off, leaving his side a man short for the last 20 minutes.

Having found the net in the first half through Niall Ferris to hold a 1-6 to 0-4 interval advantage, the Dungiven men looked to have sealed the game when Mark Craig kept his head to finish brilliantly and put his side five ahead.

But McGuigan got in along the endline to squeeze the ball through Lagan at the near post before Cormac O'Doherty's dropping shot was flicked past the Lynch's keeper by Slaughtneil captain O'Kane.

The Dungiven side threw the kitchen sink at it but the Emmets survived to retain their title.

Slaughtneil: E McGuigan; P Kearney, S Cassidy, B Óg Corbett; K McKaigue, C McKenna, J Mulholland; G Bradley, C McKaigue (0-2f); G O'Kane (1-2, 0-2f), M McGuigan (0-4), S McGuigan (1-0); O O'Doherty, C O'Doherty (0-1), B Rogers (0-2). Subs: M McGrath for O O'Doherty (19), M Kearney for Corbett (76)

Kevin Lynch's: B Lagan; D Kelly, C McCloskey, K Farren; A McCloskey, L Hinphey, P Kelly; C Herron, M Craig (1-2); C McKeever, C Mackle, R O'Kane (0-1); N Ferris (1-1), P McCloskey (0-4f), K Hinphey. Subs: P Cunningham for K Farren (33), E Farren for C McCloskey (43), C O'Kane for R O'Kane (60), T Brady (0-1) for P McCloskey (60)

Referee: G Duffy (Antrim).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph