Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Sligo take title

Sligo were crowned All-Ireland JFC champions following their 2-10 to 1-7 win over Kerry in the final at Pearse Stadium.

David Maye was the star, hitting eight points for the Yeats side, who led by 2-4 to 1-3 at half-time, thanks to goals from Cian McNamara and Kieran Finan, with Brendan Poff netting for the Kingdom.

Maye struck a succession of points in the second half, and it all ended badly for Kerry, who had three players sent off - Brendan Guinan, Colin O'Mahony and Michael Murphy.


From Belfast Telegraph