Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

St Ciaran's need extra time to seal final spot in B championship

St Ciaran's, Ballygawley 1-16 St Mary's CBS, Carlow 3-9

By Kevin Kelly

Danske Bank MacLarnon Cup champions St Ciaran's, Ballygawley are through to the All Ireland B final after they edged past a gallant St Mary's, Carlow side after extra time at Mullingar.

The Tyrone lads got off to a good start with an early Pascal Donaghy goal, but the Leinster side responded with a goal through Evan Lowry. Despite playing against the wind points from Caoimhin O'Donnell, Donaghy and Tomas Hoy had them in a strong position until a late goal from Lee Dunne cut the gap to one at the break.

It was score for score in the second half, but when Donaghy, Cormac Donnelly and Daniel Millar put St.Ciaran's three in front they seemed in control. Jody Murphy, though, got a third St Mary's goal to force extra time as it finished 1-12 to 3-6.

It was level after the first half with Donnelly and Jordan Morrissey on target for their respective sides. O'Donnell and Hoy then put St Ciaran's two in front and, while they lost Donaghy to a second yellow, they held on to reach the Croke Park decider.

St.Ciaran's, Ballygawley: P Traynor, M Lennon, Conor Quinn, J Murray, Callum Corrigan, Cathair Quinn, Cathal Corrigan, J Oguz (0-1), D Millar (0-2), P Donaghy (1-3), C Donnelly (0-2, 1 "45"), C Traynor, T Hoy (0-3), C O'Donnell (0-5), D Canavan.

Subs: P McNeilis for Donnelly, Jason Doyle for Millar (black card), C Donnelly for Callum Corrigan, M Owens for Cathal Corrigan, T Colhoun for Conor Quinn

St.Mary's CBS: G Kieran, M Doyle, C Ryan, C Myers, D Crotty, B Coady (0-1), D Keightley, J Morrissey (0-2), R Browne, J O'Neill (0-1), R Dunphy (0-1), L Dunne (1-0), E Lowry (1-4), J Murphy (1-0), G Healy. Subs - M Lawlor for O'Neill, C O'Neill for Keightley Referee: N McKenna, Monaghan

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph