Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

St Mary’s honoured with two All Stars

For the first time, no fewer than 14 schools are represented in the team selection for the 25th College football All Star awards this week.

St Mary’s Belfast are the only school with two players on the team, namely Patrick McBride at corner back and Kevin Quinn at corner forward.

St Colman’s Newry, who have won the last two MacRory and Hogan Cups, are represented by Ryan Johnston who played in all four winning sides.

Omagh CBS, the MacCormack Cup final winners, have Dromore’s Thomas McCarron at full back but the side they beat in the final, St.Michael’s Enniskillen, are the only MacRory Cup quarter finalist who haven’t been honoured.

Stefan Lavery from St Patrick’s Academy, Dungannon has been named at No 15, the Moy clubman having played and scored in the Carling Premiership for Dungannon Swifts.

Six counties are represented with Down, Antrim and Derry all having three.


Sean McGoldrick dedicated servant of Eoghan Rua GAA Club in Coleraine is in the final four in the Unsung Hero category at tonight’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards.

2012 BT Ulster Colleges All Stars: Cathail Arnold (St Patrick’s, Downpatrick); Patrick McBride (St Mary’s CBS); Tomás McCarron (Omagh CBS); Jason Murphy (Our Lady’s, Castleblaney); Ryan Johnston (St Colman’s, Newry); Ciaran McCartan (Abbey CBS); Conor White (St Patrick’s, Armagh); Ryan Dougan (St Patrick’s, Maghera); Mel Boyce (St.Macartans, Monaghan); Terence O’Brien (St Mary’s, Magherafelt); Dermot McAleese (St Louis, Ballymena); Barry Coyle (St Patrick’s, Keady); Kevin Quinn (St Mary’s CBS); Anthony O’Neill (St Pius X); Stefan Lavery (St Patrick’s, Dungannon).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph