Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

St Pat's get to final as they show pedigree

St Patrick's 1-10 St Colmans 0-11

Danske Bank MacRory Cup favourites St Patrick's Maghera made no mistake at the second time of asking in Dunmoyle on Saturday afternoon when they edged past a gallant St Colman's Newry side to set up a title shoot- out with first time finalists St Paul's Bessbrook on March 18.

Once again there was little between the sides throughout with Danny Tallon's early goal proving to be crucial on a day when St Colman's missed a vital penalty 10 minutes from time.

Tallon fired past keeper John O'Hare in the third minute and while that rocked the Newry lads they responded.

Dara Noonan hit two good scores and after Gerald Bradley had pointed for Maghera a brace from full forward Jack Haughey left the sides on level terms.

Bradley, Tallon and Peter Cassidy then all scored as the Derry lads opened up a three point gap but Haughey had the final say of the opening half from a well struck free to leave it 1-5 to 0-6.

Haughey drove over a point from play on the resumption but after he had traded points again with Bradley the winners got on top with Tallon and Cassidy both splitting the posts for a 1-9 to 0-8 advantage by the 41st minute.

St Colman's were then given a great chance to get back into the game from a penalty but Noonan blasted it over the bar.

Substitute Jordan Fegan then made it a two point game but they were unable to get closer to their opponents.

St. Patrick's Maghera: C McCloy, C Glass, D Hughes, O Hegarty, C Mulholland, C Carville, C Gallagher, J Kearney (0-1), Peter Cassidy (0-2), C O'Doherty, G Bradley (0-4), D McFaul, N Toner, S O'Hara (0-1), D Tallon (1-2). Subs: N McNicholl for McFaul, C Convery for Toner, P Hagan for Mulholland, Padraig Cassidy for Peter Cassidy

St. Colman's Newry: J O'Hare, A McKiernan, M Finnegan, J Brown, M O'Hare, J McDermott, C Brown, J Curran, E Grant, C Sands, D Noonan (0-3), O O'Neill, L McGreevy, J Haughey (0-7), K Rice. Subs: J Fegan (0-1) for Grant, P Morgan for Finnegan, C Magee for J Brown, B Doyle for O'Neill

Referee: C O'Hagan (Brackaville).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph