Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Tipp reach Munster SHC final

All-Ireland champions Tipperary qualified for the Munster SHC final with a 4-19 to 1-19 victory over Clare at the Gaelic Grounds.

They had to recover from an early scare when Conor McGrath grabbed a goal for the Banner men inside the opening minute.

But Tipp steadied the ship with three goals before the break, from Eoin Kelly, Patrick Maher and Lar Corbett.

They led by 3-7 to 1-10 at the interval, and gradually got on top as Clare struggled to maintain the tempo after the restart.

Seamus Callinan's late goal ended any chance that Ger O'Loughlin's side had of causing an upset, and Tipperary marched on to a meeting with Waterford in the provincial final.

Derry reached their first Ulster SFC final in 11 years with a 3-14 to 1-11 win over Armagh at Clones.

Mark Lynch blasted home a brilliant 30th minute goal and Eogan Bradley hit five points as Derry built up a 1-8 to 0-6 interval lead.

Micheal O'Rourke pulled back an Armagh three-pointer, but goals from Bradley and Conleith Gilligan secured the Orchard men's place in the decider against either Tyrone or Donegal.


From Belfast Telegraph